I’ll Never Get To Hear Your Voice

Yeah, this isn’t going to be a happy post folks.

I actually posted this awhile ago, but turned out I wasn’t ready for it really. Time numbs all things eventually though, and I think I’m ready to share. No jokes, no doodles this time. Just a moment to be sad if you bare with me for a moment. Thanks y’all.

I’ll never get to hear your voice  or hear you call me dad

I’ll never get to give you hugs when you’re feeling sad

I’ll never get to help you build castles in the sand

I’ll never even get to hold your hand

I’ll never get to help you get dressed or tie your shoes

I’ll never get to kiss away your boo boos

No bedtime stories or late night cuddles

No jumping around in muddy puddles

No sunny days or games on the lawn

Not anything ever, because you’re gone

I’ll never get to do the things I wanted or planned

Like waves on the beach, it washed away in the sand

Although your time with us was all too brief

Your absence has left nothing but deepest grief

Yet despite the long list of things that cannot be done

You will always remain my daughter or son

If there’s one thing that I still get to do

Is say goodbye, and that I will always love you

Stay classy, stay safe, and, above all else,

Stay Grumpy.

Leave a comment